CCBTO logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCBTO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • No official CCBTO-specific pass rate has been publicly disclosed by ICBA Education.
  • The passing threshold is a fixed 70%, regardless of unverified question count or format.
  • A failed first attempt allows one designated retake; a second failure means repeating the full Institute and exam.
  • The exam is closed-book, single-sitting, online, with immediate results reported to candidates.

What the Pass Rate Data Actually Shows

If you're searching for a hard number on how many candidates pass the Certified Community Bank Technology Officer (CCBTO) exam, the honest answer is that one has not been made public. The Independent Community Bankers of America (ICBA), through ICBA Education, administers the CCBTO program via the IT Institute and an online examination portal, but no credential-specific pass rate has been released in any document, webinar, or published source reviewed for this article.

This matters because a lot of generic exam-prep content floating around the internet implies pass rates with confidence they haven't earned. For CCBTO specifically, the closest thing to a public statistic is a broader ICBA-wide statement citing a pass rate above 95% - but that figure describes ICBA programs collectively, not the CCBTO exam on its own. Treating that number as a CCBTO pass rate would be inaccurate, and this article won't do that.

What's verified vs. unverified: The 70% passing threshold is confirmed. The exact number of questions, the scored-vs-unscored split, and any credential-specific pass rate are not publicly disclosed. Plan your preparation around the known threshold, not an assumed difficulty curve.

Why No Official CCBTO Pass Rate Exists

There are a few structural reasons the CCBTO pass rate isn't published the way some larger professional certifications report theirs:

  • Small, cohort-based delivery. CCBTO is tied to a scheduled IT Institute cohort rather than year-round, high-volume testing. ICBA's most recently verified cohort has already concluded, and pricing/scheduling for the next cohort is unverified at this time, which limits the kind of large-sample reporting that produces publishable pass-rate statistics.
  • No external testing vendor. Unlike certifications administered through major third-party proctoring networks that routinely publish psychometric data, CCBTO's examination runs through ICBA's own online portal, with no external testing or proctoring vendor verified in public sources.
  • No numbered exam version or weighted blueprint. Without a disclosed, versioned blueprint, there's also no public breakdown of how candidates perform by domain or question type.

In short: the absence of a published pass rate isn't an oversight you can dig up with more searching - it reflects how the program is currently structured and reported. If you want the full picture on how rigorous the exam is in the absence of that number, our companion piece on how hard the CCBTO exam actually is digs into difficulty signals beyond a single statistic.

Key Takeaway

Don't build your study plan around an assumed pass rate. Build it around the one number that is confirmed: the 70% passing threshold, applied against four known content areas.

The 70% Passing Threshold and What It Means

ICBA has confirmed that candidates need to score 70% to pass the CCBTO exam. That's the anchor point for every preparation decision you make. For a full breakdown of what that threshold implies about scoring mechanics and how to interpret it against the four domains, see our dedicated guide on the CCBTO passing score.

Because the exact question count and the scored/unscored item split are not publicly disclosed, you can't reverse-engineer "how many questions you can miss." What you can do is treat 70% as a floor across all tested material and prepare broadly rather than betting on any single domain carrying you.

FactorStatus
Passing score70% (confirmed)
Question countNot publicly disclosed
Scored vs. unscored splitNot publicly disclosed
Exam formatOnline examination (confirmed); item format not disclosed
CCBTO-specific pass rateNot publicly disclosed
ICBA-wide pass-rate statementCited above 95%, but not credential-specific

Exam Format, Timing, and Retake Rules

A few operational facts are confirmed and directly affect how you should prepare and schedule your attempt:

  • Closed book, closed notes. No outside assistance or materials are permitted during the exam.
  • Single, uninterrupted, timed sitting. You take the exam in one block; there's no pausing and resuming.
  • Immediate results. Candidates learn their outcome right after completing the exam - no waiting weeks for a score report.
  • Timing context. The published agenda for the August 31-September 3, 2026 Institute schedules the exam for September 8 from 10-11:30 a.m., a 90-minute cohort block. That's the agenda slot, not a separately verified universal time limit for every candidate or future cohort, so treat it as context rather than a guaranteed duration for your sitting.
  • Retake policy. If you don't pass on your first attempt, a designated retake is permitted, though the exact retake date isn't published. If you fail a second time, you must repeat the full Institute and exam - not just the test. That makes first-attempt preparation meaningfully more important than it might be for certifications with unlimited retakes.
  • Unverified mechanics. Calculator availability, whether the exam adapts to responses, and detailed proctoring rules are not confirmed in public sources, so don't build your preparation around assumptions in these areas.

Because a second failure requires repeating the entire Institute, it's worth reading our CCBTO exam dates and scheduling guide before you commit to a cohort, so your calendar - not just your study plan - supports a serious first attempt.

Retake stakes: One retake is allowed after a first failure. A second failure means re-enrolling in the Institute and paying tuition again - so pass-rate uncertainty should push you toward over-preparing, not guessing.

The Four Domains You Must Master

While ICBA hasn't published weighted percentages for how each domain is tested, the Institute's learning objectives point to four content areas every candidate needs to master. A full breakdown of each lives in our CCBTO exam domains guide, but here's the shape of what you're working with.

Domain 1: Understand IT Budgeting and Systems Selection

Covers how community banks plan technology spending and evaluate vendor and system options.

  • Connect budgeting decisions to the bank's broader technology roadmap

Domain 2: Learn Cloud Trends

Focuses on current cloud adoption patterns relevant to community banking technology environments.

  • Understand how cloud trends intersect with vendor selection decisions

Domain 3: Be Familiar with Asset Management

Addresses how banks track, maintain, and retire technology assets over their lifecycle.

  • Link asset management practices to budgeting and risk oversight

Domain 4: Gain Knowledge of Cybersecurity Tactics

Covers practical cybersecurity approaches relevant to a community bank technology officer's role.

  • Connect cybersecurity tactics to incident response and governance concepts discussed in the curriculum

Important nuance: these four items are the published Institute learning objectives, listed in the issuer's own order. They represent preparation topics, not an officially weighted examination blueprint. No source confirms how many questions map to each domain, or which domain is "largest" on the actual exam. Curriculum themes like IT governance, vendor oversight, controls, data, emerging technology, and incident response appear throughout the Institute material, but they sit inside these four objectives rather than existing as separate, independently weighted domains.

Who Pursues CCBTO and Why the Pass Rate Matters

CCBTO is built for people working inside, or heading toward, community bank technology roles - think IT officers, operations leads, and technology-adjacent compliance staff at smaller banks, rather than candidates at large national institutions with dedicated enterprise security teams. If you're still mapping out whether this fits your career path, our overview of what CCBTO certification actually is and our guide to CCBTO-relevant job roles are useful starting points.

Given the retake stakes described above, candidates in this group tend to care more about "how do I pass on attempt one" than about chasing a precise percentage. That's a reasonable response to the available data: with no public pass rate and a real cost to failing twice, treating every domain as high-stakes is the safer approach. For a structured first-attempt strategy, our CCBTO study guide for passing on your first attempt walks through sequencing in more depth.

Cost and Investment Context

Pass-rate uncertainty is easier to plan around once you see the full cost structure, because it clarifies exactly what's at stake with each attempt. The published 2026 exam fee is $500, with no member/non-member distinction on the test fee itself. However, the mandatory IT Institute tuition is where most of the investment sits: $2,699 for ICBA members and $3,599 for non-members. Combined with the exam fee, tuition-plus-test totals land at $3,199 (member) or $4,099 (non-member). A separate non-banker tuition category of $4,499 exists and is subject to approval.

Because the latest verified cohort has already ended, pricing for the next cohort is currently unverified - so treat the figures above as the most recent confirmed benchmark rather than a guarantee for your specific enrollment window. A full pricing walkthrough, including the maintenance side, is available in our CCBTO certification cost breakdown.

Maintenance after you pass isn't trivial either: active status requires $150 annually plus 30 relevant CPE credits every two years, with at least half earned live, and the cycle starts the year after you're awarded the credential. The Institute itself carries a course-credit discrepancy worth knowing about - the event page lists 29.5 CPE while the 2026 budget worksheet lists 31 - but that's a credit-tracking detail, not an exam-domain weight or a prerequisite you need to resolve before testing.

Key Takeaway

With tuition-plus-exam costs running into the thousands and a second failure requiring a full Institute repeat, the financial logic favors thorough domain-by-domain preparation over hoping a published pass rate works in your favor.

Building a Study Plan Around the Domains

Because question-level weighting isn't published, the most defensible prep strategy is even coverage across all four learning objectives, with extra time reserved for whichever domain feels least familiar from your day-to-day banking role. If you already work in bank operations, cybersecurity tactics or cloud trends may be newer territory than budgeting; if you come from an IT background, asset management and budgeting processes may need more attention.

Week 1

IT Budgeting and Systems Selection

  • Review how community banks structure technology budgets and vendor evaluation criteria
  • Work through practice questions tied to budgeting scenarios using the practice test platform
Week 2

Cloud Trends

  • Study current cloud adoption patterns referenced in Institute materials
  • Connect cloud concepts back to the vendor-selection material from Week 1
Week 3

Asset Management

  • Map out asset lifecycle stages and how they tie to budgeting and risk
  • Run a timed practice session to simulate the single-sitting exam format
Week 4

Cybersecurity Tactics and Full Review

  • Focus on cybersecurity tactics, incident response, and governance themes
  • Take a full-length practice run on the main practice test site before your scheduled exam date

This isn't a generic weekly template borrowed from unrelated certifications - it's sequenced specifically around the four published CCBTO learning objectives, moving from budget-and-selection fundamentals toward the more technical cybersecurity material, since incident response and governance concepts tend to build on earlier context about systems and assets.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the current CCBTO pass rate?

No credential-specific pass rate for CCBTO has been publicly disclosed. A broader ICBA-wide statement cites a pass rate above 95%, but that figure covers ICBA programs generally and is not specific to the CCBTO exam.

What score do I need to pass the CCBTO exam?

You need 70% to pass. The exact question count and scoring breakdown behind that threshold are not publicly disclosed.

What happens if I fail the CCBTO exam?

You're permitted one designated retake, though the exact retake date isn't published. If you fail a second time, you must repeat the full IT Institute and exam, not just the test itself.

Are the four CCBTO domains weighted differently on the exam?

No official weighting has been verified. The four areas - IT budgeting and systems selection, cloud trends, asset management, and cybersecurity tactics - are published Institute learning objectives, not a confirmed weighted blueprint.

Does CCBTO use an external testing vendor like other certifications?

No external testing or proctoring vendor has been verified. The exam runs through ICBA's own online portal as part of the Institute cohort schedule.

Ready to pass your CCBTO exam?

Put this into practice with free CCBTO questions across every exam domain.